A driver’s license can be suspended in Florida for a number of reasons. These include not paying fines as well as accumulating points in your driving record. The ease of driver’s license reinstatement depends on the suspensions or violations involved. For instance, offenses that involve late or no payment can be resolved by paying the amount of the fine or missed payments including the penalties or surcharges involved. Others, however, are much more complicated than that.
Driver’s License Reinstatement
There are many ways on how you can get your license back. But first, you must understand why it was suspended in the first place.
1) Suspension due to too many points
You accumulate points on your license for committing traffic offenses. Florida assigns different point totals for different traffic violations. A number of accumulated points can get your license suspended:
– If you earn 12 points in 12 months, you will receive a 30-day suspension.
– If you earn 18 points in 18 months, you will receive a 3-month suspension.
– If you earn 24 points in 24 months, you will receive a 12-month suspension.
You can apply for a hardship license which allows you to drive in a limited manner once your license is suspended. An exam, enrolment in an Advanced Drive Improvement (ADI) course, and payment of suspension reinstatement fee and any other applicable license fees are required before a hardship license will be released.
Once your suspension time has expired, you can request a full license reinstatement at the same Bureau of Administrative Review.
2) Suspension for being a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO)
The state of Florida keeps track of driving offenses. You may be labelled as an HTO for committing 15 moving violations for which points are assigned in a five-year period. Likewise, once you commit a total of three offenses from the list below within a five-year period, you will also be labelled as a Habitual Traffic Offender.
– Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
– Driving While License Suspended or Revoked (DWLSR)
– Vehicular manslaughter, voluntary or involuntary
– Any felony in which a motor vehicle was used
– Failing to stop as required under law following a crash that resulted in the death or personal injury of someone (hit and run)
– Driving a commercial vehicle while the privilege is disqualified
Driver’s licenses labelled as HTO will be suspended for five years. You also cannot get a hardship license a year after the date of your license suspension. An exam, enrolment in an Advanced Drive Improvement (ADI) course, and payment of suspension reinstatement fee and any other applicable license fees are required before a hardship license will be released.
Once the five-year suspension period has passed, you will need to contact the Bureau of Administrative Review office again to petition for full reinstatement of your license. This will not happen automatically after the suspension period ends.
For other questions regarding driver’s license reinstatement, you may consult with a traffic lawyer in Tampa.
311 S Brevard Ave. Tampa, Florida 33606